Articles about nuclear fusion


5th of February 2022
Article "Summarized proposal of a progressive thermalization fusion reactor able to produce nuclear fusions with a mechanical gain superior or equal to 18" Rev. B

Abstract: the main advantage of this fusion reactor is that the plasma after having been brought up near to the optimum conditions for D/T fusion (around 68 keV), is then maintained in this state, low energy non-thermal ions (=15 keV) being injected as replacement ions. So the energetic cost is low and the mechanical gain (Q) is elevated (=18), the working being continuous. Moreover, the main plasma control by the particles injectors (I and U) is relatively simple. This reactor has been partly checked on a simulator.

Download here this article


29h of January 2022
Article "Progressive thermalization fusion reactor able to produce nuclear fusions at higher mechanical gain" (published in the journal "Energy and Power Engineering":
https://doi.org/10.4236/epe.2022.141003)

Abstract: in the standard fusion reactors, mainly tokamaks, the mechanical gain obtained is below 1. In the other hand, there are colliding beam fusion reactors, for which, the not neutral plasma and the space charge limits the number of fusions to a very small number. Consequently, the mechanical gain is extremely low.

The proposed reactor is also a colliding beam fusion reactor, configured in Stellarator, using directed beams. D+/T+ ions are injected in opposition, with electrons, at high speeds, so as to form a neutral beam. All these particles turn in a magnetic loop in form of figure of “0” (“racetrack”). The plasma is initially non-thermal but, as expected, rapidly becomes thermal, so all states between non-thermal and thermal exists in this reactor. The main advantage of this reactor is that this plasma after having been brought up near to the optimum conditions for fusion (around 68 keV), is then maintained in this state, thanks to low energy non-thermal ions (<=15 keV). So the energetic cost is low and the mechanical gain (Q) is high (>>1). The goal of this article is to study a different type of fusion reactor, its advantages (no net plasma current inside this reactor, so no disruptive instabilities and consequently a continuous working, a relatively simple way to control the reactor thanks to the particles injectors), and its drawbacks, using a simulator tool. The finding results are valuable for possible future fusion reactors able to generate massive energy in a cleaner and safer way than fission reactors.

Read this article


23th of September 2020
Article "Usefulness of the magnetic  corkscrew  for particles beams" Rev. C
Download here this article


23th of September 2020
Article "Electrostatic lens sizing" Rev. C
Download here this article


27th of August 2019
Article "Simulation of a fusion reactor using an electrons cloud confined in a magnetic bottle" Rev. A
Download here this article


19th of February 2019
Article "Conclusion about the possibility of fusion by frontal collision in a linear device" Rev. 3
Download here this article


22th of July 2018
Article "Proposal of a new type of electrostatic confinement reactor able to produce nuclear fusions with a yield superior to 1" Rev. B
Download here this article


22th of July 2018
Article "Proposal of an electrostatic confinement reactor able to produce nuclear aneutronic fusions with a yield superior to 1" Rev. A
Download here this article


Links on other sites


Last updated the 25th of August 2022.

Articles sur la fusion nucléaire


5 février 2022
Article "Summarized proposal of a progressive thermalization fusion reactor able to produce nuclear fusions with a mechanical gain superior or equal to 18" Rév. B (en anglais)

Article "Résumé d'une proposition d'un réacteur à fusion, à thermalisation progressive, capable de produire des fusions nucléaires avec un gain supérieur ou égal à 18" Rév. B

Résumé : L’avantage principal de ce réacteur est que le plasma après avoir été porté à des conditions proches des conditions optimum pour la fusion D/T (environ 68 keV), est ensuite maintenu dans cet état, grâce à des ions de faible énergie non thermiques (=15 keV) injectés en tant qu'ions de remplacement. Donc le coût énergétique est bas et le gain mécanique (Q) est élevé (=18), le fonctionnement étant continu. En outre, le contrôle principal du plasma par les injecteurs de particules (I et U) est relativement simple. Ce réacteur a été partiellement vérifié sur un simulateur.

Téléchargez ici cet article


29 janvier 2022
Article "Progressive thermalization fusion reactor able to produce nuclear fusions at higher mechanical gain" (en anglais, publié dans le journal "Energy and Power Engineering":
https://doi.org/10.4236/epe.2022.141003)

Article "Réacteur à fusion, à thermalisation progressive, capable de produire des fusions nucléaires avec un gain mécanique élevé"

Résumé : dans les réacteurs à fusion standard, principalement les tokamaks, le gain mécanique obtenu est en-dessous de 1. Par ailleurs, il y a des réacteurs à fusion de type « faisceaux en collision » (CBFR), pour lesquels la non neutralité du plasma et la charge d’espace limitent le nombre de fusions à un très petit nombre. En conséquence, le gain mécanique est extrêmement faible.

Le réacteur proposé est aussi de type « faisceaux en collision ». configuré en StellaratorIl et utilisant des faisceaux dirigés. Les ions D+/T+ ions sont injectés en opposition, avec les électrons, à hautes vitesses, de façon à former un faisceau neutre. Toutes ces particules tournent dans une boucle magnétique en forme de “0” (appelé “champ de course”). Le plasma est initialement non-thermique mais, comme attendu, il devient rapidement thermique, donc tous les états entre non-thermique et thermique existent dans ce réacteur. L’avantage principal de ce réacteur est que le plasma après avoir été porté à des conditions proches des conditions optimum pour la fusion (environ 68 keV), est ensuite maintenu dans cet état, grâce à des ions de faible énergie non thermiques (<=15 keV). Donc le coût énergétique est bas et le gain mécanique (Q) est élevé (>>1). Le but de cet article est d'étudier un type diiférent de réacteur à fusion, ses avantages (pas de courant de plasma à l'intérieur du réacteur donc pas d’instabilités disruptives et en conséquence un fonctionnement continu, un contrôle relativement simple du réacteur grâce aux injecteurs de particules) et ses défauts, en utilisant un simulateur. Les résultats trouvés sont intéressants pour d'éventuels réacteurs à fusion nucléaire capable de produire de l'énergie de façon massive, d'une manière plus propre et plus sûre que les réacteurs à fission.

Lire cet article


23 septembre 2020
Article "Usefulness of the magnetic « corkscrew » for particles beams" Rév. C (en anglais)
Téléchargez ici cet article


23 septembre 2020
Article "Electrostatic lens sizing" Rév. C (en anglais)
Téléchargez ici cet article


27 août 2019
Article "Simulation d’un réacteur à fusion utilisant un nuage d’électrons confinés dans une bouteille magnétique" Rév. A
Téléchargez ici cet article


19 février 2019
Article "Conclusion sur la possibilité de fusion par collision frontale dans un dispositif linéaire" Rév. 3
Téléchargez ici cet article


22 juillet 2018
Article "Proposition d’un nouveau type de réacteur à confinement électrostatique capable de produire des fusions nucléaires avec une efficacité supérieure à 1" Rév. B
Téléchargez ici cet article


22 juillet 2018
Article "Proposition d’un réacteur à confinement électrostatique capable de produire des fusions nucléaires aneutroniques avec une efficacité supérieure à 1" Rév. A
Téléchargez ici cet article


Liens sur d'autres sites


Cette page a été écrite le 25 août 2022.